The tribe

Your friends
Your people
Your tribe.

My early years in high school I had a lot of friends. People I could hangout with and people I sat next to in class but as time went on all the bonds I had made began to be tested.

We began to grow apart but I didn’t want to lose them yet there was nothing I could do to stop the bonds from breaking. Eventually I got to a point where I wasn’t sure if I really had friends anymore but I noticed something.

I started seeing the people who actually made it a commitment to be in my life and those that didn’t. I started being able to tell who was really listening to me and who wasn’t. Certain people grew closer to me while the others grew away but I was okay with that.

After I had let go of all I’d lost I was able to appreciate the tribe I had found. Out with the old, in with the new.

I guess we can’t appreciate the new until we lose the old.

image

4 thoughts on “The tribe

Leave a Reply

